Forums FAQForums FAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Login to check your private messagesLogin to check your private messages   LoginLogin 

The SM Timing Window Configurations
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next  
This topic is locked you cannot edit posts or make replies    DDR Freak Forum Index -> DDR PC and Simulators
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
D r S a n e
Trick Member
Trick Member


Joined: 07 Jul 2004
0. PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 6:26 pm    Post subject: The SM Timing Window Configurations Reply with quote

Here are the SM timing window configurations for the file "...Step Mania/Data/Step Mania.config". Somewhere in the middle of the configuration file you will see "JudgeWindowSecond" replace the appropriate values with the style you would like to play.

I find that the "Frame-Rate based 8th Mix Arcade Timings" feel the most accurate.

The timing window is the degree of how precisely you need to hit the arrow compared to the music offset; a larger time equals more leanancy in how precise you have to be.

NEW! Using A Pad:

In conjungtion with the timing windows, you should set these two attributes, to more effectively duplicate a real arcade pad (credits to Crono).

PadStickSeconds=0.050000
JudgeWindowAdd=0.001500


Default:

JudgeWindowScale=0.660000
JudgeWindowSecondsAttack=0.135000
JudgeWindowSecondsBoo=0.180000
JudgeWindowSecondsGood=0.135000
JudgeWindowSecondsGreat=0.090000
JudgeWindowSecondsMarvelous=0.022500
JudgeWindowSecondsMine=0.090000
JudgeWindowSecondsOK=0.250000
JudgeWindowSecondsPerfect=0.045000


8th Mix Arcade:

JudgeWindowScale=1.000000
JudgeWindowSecondsAttack=0.120000
JudgeWindowSecondsBoo=0.150000
JudgeWindowSecondsGood=0.120000
JudgeWindowSecondsGreat=0.090000
JudgeWindowSecondsMarvelous=0.015000
JudgeWindowSecondsMine=0.120000
JudgeWindowSecondsOK=0.250000
JudgeWindowSecondsPerfect=0.030000


Note: Those of you that use the above option make sure to update the current WindowScale setting change.

8th Mix Arcade (Frame-rate based):

JudgeWindowScale=1.000000
JudgeWindowSecondsAttack=0.135000
JudgeWindowSecondsBoo=0.191666
JudgeWindowSecondsGood=0.158333
JudgeWindowSecondsGreat=0.108333
JudgeWindowSecondsMarvelous=0.016666
JudgeWindowSecondsMine=0.108333
JudgeWindowSecondsOK=0.250000
JudgeWindowSecondsPerfect=0.033333


Note: Those of you that use the above option make sure to update the current WindowMarvelous setting change.

In The Groove:

JudgeWindowScale=1.000000
JudgeWindowSecondsAttack=0.135000
JudgeWindowSecondsBoo=0.180000
JudgeWindowSecondsGood=0.135000
JudgeWindowSecondsGreat=0.102000
JudgeWindowSecondsMarvelous=0.021500
JudgeWindowSecondsMine=0.070000
JudgeWindowSecondsOK=0.320000
JudgeWindowSecondsPerfect=0.043000


Thanks to:
    Pantera
    t3hmonkay
    austin
    amazingsupermonkey
    syncognition
    Crono


Correct me if I am wrong. And if there are more existent configurations, please post them.


Last edited by D r S a n e on Thu Aug 03, 2006 4:54 am, edited 11 times in total
Back to top
View users profile Send private message MSN Messenger
MrZombie44
Basic Member
Basic Member


Joined: 14 Sep 2004
1. PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 6:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i think that answer is in the FAQ thread

http://www.ddrfreak.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=64981


Q:what judge difficulty is closest to the real arcade?

A:Depends on what arcade mix, everything but 3rd and 8th mix, the difficulty is around the 4. For 3rd and 8th, bump it up to 5 or 6 if you are feeling lucky


i think is what your looking for
Back to top
View users profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
Pantera
Trick Member
Trick Member


Joined: 01 Feb 2004
Location: ¯\(º_o)/¯
2. PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 8:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I doubt that answered his question...this, however might:

JudgeWindowAttackSeconds=0.120000 (assumed to be same as "good")
JudgeWindowBooSeconds=0.150000
JudgeWindowGoodSeconds=0.120000
JudgeWindowGreatSeconds=0.090000 (same as SM's defaults)
JudgeWindowMarvelousSeconds=0.015000
JudgeWindowMineSeconds=0.120000 (assumed to have "good"'s window)
JudgeWindowOKSeconds=0.250000 (just an assumption)
JudgeWindowPerfectSeconds=0.030000 (this would be around judge difficulty 5 2/3)

Change those in the SM config file. It might be JudgeWindowSecondsPerfect or something slightly different however.

EDIT: And that's 8th mix, by the way.
_________________
Back to top
View users profile Send private message Send email AOL Instant Messenger Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
D r S a n e
Trick Member
Trick Member


Joined: 07 Jul 2004
3. PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2004 3:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks. And I'm assuming the options judge setting stays on 4?

EDIT: I'm also getting a lot of odd misses, one's that I'm sure I'm not missing (even on songs I can SDG/AAA).


Last edited by D r S a n e on Thu Oct 07, 2004 3:49 pm, edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View users profile Send private message MSN Messenger
diddrstrait
Trick Member
Trick Member


Joined: 01 Jan 2004
4. PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2004 3:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dr Sane wrote:
Thanks. And I'm assuming the options judge setting stays on 4?


yeah, if you change it to anything else and then try to go back to 4, it will reset to the SM default.
Back to top
View users profile Send private message
D r S a n e
Trick Member
Trick Member


Joined: 07 Jul 2004
5. PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2004 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks.

And along with the other remaining question, why is my default scalewindow suddenly a full second? When neither the default or the other one I put it on is 1...rather 0.66

EDIT: OMG.....the difference. IT BURNS!

Sakura went from 3 Greats to 60 Greats
Max 300 went from 18 Greats to 90 Greats
PS went from 10 Greats to 85 Greats
LoM went from 25 Greats to 80 Greats
MaxX Unlimited went from 20 Greats to 130!!

WTF! E2.gif E2.gif E2.gif My hopes of AAAing a 10 footer went terribly down the drain!!! OMG!! WTF???????????????????? I'll never get it now! This is just ****ING terrible! frust.gif frust.gif frust.gif

But there were no differences in goods (I sill FCed them all).

SHEIZAR! goog.gif
Back to top
View users profile Send private message MSN Messenger
DDRNemesis
Trick Member
Trick Member


Joined: 10 Jun 2004
Location: Bryan, OH
6. PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2004 8:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I hate to bring up an old post, but this is getting annoying. Whenever I change the timings in the .ini it always changes back to the defaults. I can't get it to stay. I am using rc1. Tell me what is wrong.
_________________

I'm an affiliate for Play-Asia, click on banner for all of your BEMANI needs!!!
Back to top
View users profile Send private message AOL Instant Messenger Xbox Live Gamertag MSN Messenger
Pantera
Trick Member
Trick Member


Joined: 01 Feb 2004
Location: ¯\(º_o)/¯
7. PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2004 10:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DDRNemesis wrote:
I hate to bring up an old post, but this is getting annoying. Whenever I change the timings in the .ini it always changes back to the defaults. I can't get it to stay. I am using rc1. Tell me what is wrong.


Question 1: What's rc1?

Question 2: Could it be because you're using rc1?
_________________
Back to top
View users profile Send private message Send email AOL Instant Messenger Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
diddrstrait
Trick Member
Trick Member


Joined: 01 Jan 2004
8. PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2004 11:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

EmiOfBrie in another thread wrote:
"RC1" = Release Candidate 1

Stepmania 3.9 has finished alpha testing and is very near release (release version will be 4.0 I believe). This is good news for skinners, as there will likely be no more metrics changes.
Back to top
View users profile Send private message
D r S a n e
Trick Member
Trick Member


Joined: 07 Jul 2004
9. PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2004 6:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Will someone answer my implied question?

ponder.gif
Back to top
View users profile Send private message MSN Messenger
diddrstrait
Trick Member
Trick Member


Joined: 01 Jan 2004
10. PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2004 8:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

um, you did worse because the timing window wasn't painfully easy? also, the scaling has to do with what fractions your timing windows are based on. with a scale window of .66 your windows are divisions of that, while a scale of 1 sec means that your timing windows will be divisions of whole numbers I believe. not absolutely sure about that.

EDIT: scratch that. it doesn't make any sense. I've never seen your timings before, so I'm guessing based on the decimals that the ones you have are inaccurate and too easy. stick with the ones with the scale of a second.
Back to top
View users profile Send private message
D r S a n e
Trick Member
Trick Member


Joined: 07 Jul 2004
11. PostPosted: Fri Oct 22, 2004 3:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

0.66 is too easy now? Gee i'm screwed... blink.gif
Back to top
View users profile Send private message MSN Messenger
tehmonkay
Basic Member
Basic Member


Joined: 10 May 2004
12. PostPosted: Sat Oct 23, 2004 7:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

JudgeWindowScale=1.000000
JudgeWindowSecondsAttack=0.135000
JudgeWindowSecondsBoo=0.191666
JudgeWindowSecondsGood=0.158333
JudgeWindowSecondsGreat=0.108333
JudgeWindowSecondsMarvelous=0.015000
JudgeWindowSecondsMine=0.108333
JudgeWindowSecondsOK=0.250000
JudgeWindowSecondsPerfect=0.033333

This is actually all 60FPS mixes approximate timings.

DDR arcade mix timings aren't based off of seconds, they're based on frames, marvelous is 1 frame, perfect is 2, etc. If you divide these frame counts by 60(the amount of frames displayed in a second on 5th - 8th mix) then you get these timings. However, OK is not exact, since on the machine I believe it's based on beats, so it would be influenced by the BPM of the song.

However, these timings are not exact. When translated into seconds, it's just slightly relaxed.
_________________
Back to top
View users profile Send private message Visit posters website AOL Instant Messenger
Pantera
Trick Member
Trick Member


Joined: 01 Feb 2004
Location: ¯\(º_o)/¯
13. PostPosted: Sat Oct 23, 2004 11:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

tehmonkay wrote:
DDR arcade mix timings aren't based off of seconds, they're based on frames, marvelous is 1 frame, perfect is 2, etc. If you divide these frame counts by 60(the amount of frames displayed in a second on 5th - 8th mix) then you get these timings. However, OK is not exact, since on the machine I believe it's based on beats, so it would be influenced by the BPM of the song.


If they were in seconds, those values are what they'd be.
_________________
Back to top
View users profile Send private message Send email AOL Instant Messenger Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
D r S a n e
Trick Member
Trick Member


Joined: 07 Jul 2004
14. PostPosted: Sun Oct 24, 2004 5:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So does that mean in both conditions (arcade and not) should it be 1.00 or 0.66?
Back to top
View users profile Send private message MSN Messenger
ʞ0lɹǝɥs
Maniac Member
Maniac Member


Joined: 27 Jan 2002
Location: the internet
15. PostPosted: Sun Nov 21, 2004 3:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm stickying this because it's important info.
_________________


jaeness wrote:
get your change from obama, he apparently has tons of it.
Back to top
View users profile Send private message Visit posters website AOL Instant Messenger
austin
Trick Member
Trick Member


Joined: 26 Oct 2003
Location: Golden, CO
16. PostPosted: Sun Nov 21, 2004 7:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tehmonkay wrote:
JudgeWindowScale=1.000000
JudgeWindowSecondsAttack=0.135000
JudgeWindowSecondsBoo=0.191666
JudgeWindowSecondsGood=0.158333
JudgeWindowSecondsGreat=0.108333
JudgeWindowSecondsMarvelous=0.016666
JudgeWindowSecondsMine=0.108333
JudgeWindowSecondsOK=0.250000
JudgeWindowSecondsPerfect=0.033333

This is actually all 60FPS mixes approximate timings.


You had the marvelous timing wrong.
_________________
Back to top
View users profile Send private message
MPB3.Radio
Trick Member
Trick Member


Joined: 05 Dec 2002
Location: P-Town
17. PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2004 7:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

tehmonkay wrote:
DDR arcade mix timings aren't based off of seconds, they're based on frames, marvelous is 1 frame, perfect is 2, etc. If you divide these frame counts by 60(the amount of frames displayed in a second on 5th - 8th mix) then you get these timings. However, OK is not exact, since on the machine I believe it's based on beats, so it would be influenced by the BPM of the song.


I find that rather difficult to believe since it would make a lot of the slower scrolling songs easier to PA and that doesn't appear to be the case at all when I find songs like after the game of love harder to PA regardless of scrolling speed.
Back to top
View users profile Send private message Visit posters website AOL Instant Messenger
D r S a n e
Trick Member
Trick Member


Joined: 07 Jul 2004
18. PostPosted: Tue Nov 23, 2004 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, no. He's talking about OK's. Ya know the hold arrow?

That's why some people jump to the beat on the hold arrows because you won't loose your OK that way.
Back to top
View users profile Send private message MSN Messenger
MPB3.Radio
Trick Member
Trick Member


Joined: 05 Dec 2002
Location: P-Town
19. PostPosted: Wed Nov 24, 2004 1:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sane Likes DDR wrote:
No, no. He's talking about OK's. Ya know the hold arrow?

That's why some people jump to the beat on the hold arrows because you won't loose your OK that way.


Yes, but he's talking about more than just the freeze scoring logistics. There's no doubt that it's based on fixed timing and nothing else. What I'm doubting is the notion that evaluation of tap steps are based on visual coordinate increments and not that same fixed timing.
Back to top
View users profile Send private message Visit posters website AOL Instant Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked you cannot edit posts or make replies    DDR Freak Forum Index -> DDR PC and Simulators All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Page 1 of 6

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2 © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group