Forums FAQForums FAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile   Login to check your private messagesLogin to check your private messages   LoginLogin 

Official StepMania Help, Bug, Error, Fix, News thread
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 40, 41, 42  Next  
This topic is locked you cannot edit posts or make replies    DDR Freak Forum Index -> DDR PC and Simulators
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
[DMB]dman.exe
Trick Member
Trick Member


Joined: 28 Mar 2003
0. PostPosted: Sun Feb 08, 2004 3:24 pm    Post subject: Official StepMania Help, Bug, Error, Fix, News thread Reply with quote

Yes, I see these threads ALL over the place, and considering that people on these boards along with me have good StepMania knowledge then the lessening of those OMG IT WON'T WORK THREADS will lessen up. People tend to just post a new topic when something doesn't work and I hope to discourage that by doing this.
_________________
hi


Last edited by [DMB]dman.exe on Sun Apr 11, 2004 4:54 pm, edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View users profile Send private message Visit posters website AOL Instant Messenger
[DMB]dman.exe
Trick Member
Trick Member


Joined: 28 Mar 2003
1. PostPosted: Sun Feb 08, 2004 3:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First I'll do Oni Courses:

An Oni course is rather simple if you have all the file names and the way to write the mods down right, I'll show an example Oni Course and if you do it right, then it WILL work, if not, you messed up on the name, the mods, etc:

Legend Road:

Code:
#COURSE:LEGENDARY ROAD;
#DISPLAYCOURSE:{LEGENDARY ROAD-CHAR.PNG};
#COMBO:PERFECT;
#COMBOMODE:1;
#LIVES:4;


Let's take this step by step:

#COURSE:NAME; **you put the name of the course here

#DISPLAYCOURSE:{LEGENDARY ROAD-CHAR.PNG}; **this is for special characters that SM doesnt have already in the font system....MOST Oni Courses don't have this

#COMBO:PERFECT; **this means that the "combo count" will only go up when you get a Perfect or Marv., not a Great. OPTIONAL!!!

#LIVES:4; **how many arrows you can miss before the course is failed. A .CRS without this is a Non-Stop course

One more, #REPEAT:YES; makes it an Endless course, or never ending (duh)

Code:
#SONG:Dance Dance Revolution 6th Mix -Max-\MAX 300:MANIAC;
#SONG:Dance Dance Revolution 7th Mix -Max2-\MAXX UNLIMITED:MANIAC;
#SONG:Dance Dance Revolution 8th Mix -Extreme-\SAKURA:MANIAC;
#SONG:Dance Dance Revolution 8th Mix -Extreme-\The legend of MAX:MANIAC;
#SONG:Dance Dance Revolution 8th Mix -Extreme-\PARANOIA survivor MAX:SMANIAC;


I'll explain one of these, as they all follow the same pattern:

#SONG:Dance Dance Revolution 8th Mix -Extreme-\PARANOIA survivor MAX:SMANIAC

The #SONG: handle identifies to the program that this is a song, not anything else, etc. After the #SONG: comes the folder which the song is in, or in this case, Dance Dance Revolution -Extreme- (AND YES THE FOLDER MUST BE SPELLED JUST LIKE THAT WITH THE "-" AND EVERYTHING OTHERWISE IT WILL NOT SHOW UP RIGHT AND YOU CANNOT PLAY IT) after that is a "\" followed byt the song name, WHICH ALSO MUST BE THE EXACT NAME of the song or it WILL NOT work. After the song name, comes a ":" then the difficulty which the song is, BASIC, TRICK, MANIAC, or SMANIAC, or the "oni" steps.

So let's make an Oni course, just with bag:

Code:
#COURSE:bag;
#COMBO:PERFECT;
#COMBOMODE:1;
#LIVES:1; (make it a lil hard E15.gif )
#SONG:Dance Dance Revolution 8th Mix -Extreme-\bag:MANIAC


Endless bag-ness

Code:
#COURSE:bag endless=ness;
#COMBO:PERFECT;
#REPEAT:YES;
#COMBOMODE:1;
#SONG:Dance Dance Revolution 8th Mix -Extreme-\bag:MANIAC


Notice how "No Lives" makes it an endless course?

And lasty, the NonStop Course:

Code:
#COURSE:bag endless=ness;
#COMBO:PERFECT;
#COMBOMODE:1;
#SONG:Dance Dance Revolution 8th Mix -Extreme-\bag:MANIAC


"No lives" and "No Repeat" makes this a Non-Stop course.

And for people who make their own banners, you get this, name the Banner the SAME name as you name the .CRS.

Now comes the truely tricky part that people mess up on, so I'll copy and paste what the experts say, for the sake of lesser typing:

The StepMania Coderz themselvez wrote:
modifiers - A comma separated series of modifier strings. This value may be left blank. Any string you see on the Player Options screen is a modifier string. Some examples are:
0.5x, 0.75x, 1.5x, 2.0x, 3.0x, 4.0x, 5.0x, 8.0x
boost, wave, drunk, dizzy, space, mini
hidden, sudden, stealth, blink
mirror, left, right, shuffle, supershuffle
little
reverse
note, flat, plain
noholds
nofreeze
dark
0.7xmusic, 0.8xmusic, 0.9xmusic, 1.0xmusic, 1.1xmusic,
1.2xmusic, 1.3xmusic, 1.4xmusic, 1.5xmusic


And for the people who don't know this yet, make the Course in a .TXT Text file then save it, exit it, and re-name it .CRS.

If i messed up on anything here, post it and I'll edit it.

2-8-04 - ONI FAQ started
2-8-04 - Minor change about adding Mods to it
_________________
hi
Back to top
View users profile Send private message Visit posters website AOL Instant Messenger
[DMB]dman.exe
Trick Member
Trick Member


Joined: 28 Mar 2003
2. PostPosted: Sun Feb 08, 2004 4:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OKAY, now characters are a word of mention, so I'll do what I can here:

Okay, first things first, you need the bones files to even RUN the characters (un zip that to Characters in the StepMania folder.) Next comes the characters themselves. Well here's a pic of them at their best:

http://www.savageddr.com/characters/SS.jpg Image Linked not posted nerd.gif

Still want to do them? Ok then, here's what comes next, grab any of these characters:

BY THE WAY, these are all from Savage DDR...why not join their forum boards E10.gif, anways:



Those are just three but give you a good taste of characters. Any issues, post them and I'll try to answer it.

Ok, quick overview, get the bones, extract them to the folder, get the characters, extract THOSE to the SAME folder as the bones (which should be Characters in the SM main folder.) I'm not sure which Alpha runs what but try them on the latest, they'd probably work there.

2-9-04 - Character FAQ started
_________________
hi
Back to top
View users profile Send private message Visit posters website AOL Instant Messenger
tekkie
Trick Member
Trick Member


Joined: 19 Dec 2003
Location: Albuquerque
3. PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2004 11:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well how do you get them to work in the NEW version? E2.gif
_________________
Back to top
View users profile Send private message AOL Instant Messenger MSN Messenger
[DMB]dman.exe
Trick Member
Trick Member


Joined: 28 Mar 2003
4. PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2004 1:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tekkie wrote:
Well how do you get them to work in the NEW version? E2.gif


What Alpha are you running?
_________________
hi
Back to top
View users profile Send private message Visit posters website AOL Instant Messenger
tekkie
Trick Member
Trick Member


Joined: 19 Dec 2003
Location: Albuquerque
5. PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2004 3:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The newest, 3.9
_________________
Back to top
View users profile Send private message AOL Instant Messenger MSN Messenger
[DMB]dman.exe
Trick Member
Trick Member


Joined: 28 Mar 2003
6. PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2004 5:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tekkie wrote:
The newest, 3.9


Well what Alpha, here's what I know for Alpha 11:

Follow those exact directions and go into the options screen (don't know which one off hand) then enable them to random, then it should work if you have everything set up right - it did for me.
_________________
hi
Back to top
View users profile Send private message Visit posters website AOL Instant Messenger
tekkie
Trick Member
Trick Member


Joined: 19 Dec 2003
Location: Albuquerque
7. PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2004 7:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think it's Alpha 10, but I'm not sure. Pretty sure though.
_________________
Back to top
View users profile Send private message AOL Instant Messenger MSN Messenger
[DMB]dman.exe
Trick Member
Trick Member


Joined: 28 Mar 2003
8. PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2004 7:33 pm    Post subject: Profile FAQ Reply with quote

Ok, I'll tackle profiles:

People who hook their pads up to SM sometimes want to keep their Finger Records different from their feet records right? Well here's how to set-up profiles.

Navigate your way to the options screen (or just hit Sc and scroll on down to "Profile Options" (it's between "Sound Options" and "Reload Courses/Songs")

Open the profile screen, then scroll down to Create:New, and hit enter.

Name the name of the profile, such as your name or your nickname, or whatever, then hit ok.

Now, I would do this, make two profiles, one that says <name>PAD and <name>FNGR, or whatever you want, as long as you know what's what, just my opinion, but that way with two profiles it makes it easy to know which is what and yes, this does work if you follow these rules.

Here's a picture showing what I mean:



See how there are two separate profiles? Well here's a way to work it, have it so when you play pad SM, make that player 2, and finger SM, make that player one. If you don't mind going in and switching them everytime you switch between pad and finger, go ahead, it's what works for you. Don't worry about Card Dir Player1/2 for now, that's nothing
that works and as you can see, not supported yet.

When you go to delelte a profile (they hold all you scores and everything) scroll down to delete then scroll over to the profile you want to delete then hit enter and yes, SM will crash, but once reloaded, it will have been deleted. Only will it crash when there is only one profile left and you delete it.

Any errors, post and I will correct them, as usual.
_________________
hi
Back to top
View users profile Send private message Visit posters website AOL Instant Messenger
tekkie
Trick Member
Trick Member


Joined: 19 Dec 2003
Location: Albuquerque
9. PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2004 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You haven't said anything related to my question yet.

If you don't know, tell me. Jeez.
_________________
Back to top
View users profile Send private message AOL Instant Messenger MSN Messenger
[DMB]dman.exe
Trick Member
Trick Member


Joined: 28 Mar 2003
10. PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2004 9:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tekkie wrote:
You haven't said anything related to my question yet.

If you don't know, tell me. Jeez.


My bad riiight.gif I'm not 100% sure on chracters...but did you try what I said?
_________________
hi
Back to top
View users profile Send private message Visit posters website AOL Instant Messenger
[S4U] Evo
Trick Member
Trick Member


Joined: 21 Oct 2002
Location: El Paso, Tx
11. PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2004 9:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

great FAQ but shouldnt you put everything in ONE post instead of having to read through multiple ones to find out the question you have?

just a suggestion riiight.gif
_________________

Back to top
View users profile Send private message AOL Instant Messenger
tekkie
Trick Member
Trick Member


Joined: 19 Dec 2003
Location: Albuquerque
12. PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2004 6:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well the new DDR mixes don't have characters (darn Konami) so since my version is the new SM it probably won't use them since the newer DDR's don't. I need to get a skin or something.
_________________
Back to top
View users profile Send private message AOL Instant Messenger MSN Messenger
[DMB]dman.exe
Trick Member
Trick Member


Joined: 28 Mar 2003
13. PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2004 3:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tekkie wrote:
Well the new DDR mixes don't have characters (darn Konami) so since my version is the new SM it probably won't use them since the newer DDR's don't. I need to get a skin or something.


In my opintion, StepMania has nothing to do with DDR, all the latest Alphas support the characters, hey, MAX2 and Ultramix have characters and they seem new (to me at least.)

What's next for me to FAQ? E15.gif
_________________
hi
Back to top
View users profile Send private message Visit posters website AOL Instant Messenger
tekkie
Trick Member
Trick Member


Joined: 19 Dec 2003
Location: Albuquerque
14. PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2004 4:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I updated a few weeks ago, the characters won't work. Do I need to get a newer version or something? E19.gif

Edit: I had accidentally installed an old version, I got the newest version, and it works fine E4.gif
_________________
Back to top
View users profile Send private message AOL Instant Messenger MSN Messenger
Yasser
Trick Member
Trick Member


Joined: 17 Sep 2003
Location: St. Louis
15. PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2004 9:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, I put that code exactly in for Legend Road and nothing showed up....what the hell is wrong with this thing heeeelllppp
_________________
Go see Pulp Fiction. Now.
Back to top
View users profile Send private message AOL Instant Messenger
[DMB]dman.exe
Trick Member
Trick Member


Joined: 28 Mar 2003
16. PostPosted: Thu Feb 12, 2004 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Captain Black wrote:
Okay, I put that code exactly in for Legend Road and nothing showed up....what the hell is wrong with this thing heeeelllppp


#COURSE:LEGENDARY ROAD;
#DISPLAYCOURSE:{LEGENDARY ROAD-CHAR.PNG};
#COMBO:PERFECT;
#COMBOMODE:1;
#LIVES:4;
#SONG:Dance Dance Revolution 6th Mix -Max-\MAX 300:MANIAC;
#SONG:Dance Dance Revolution 7th Mix -Max2-\MAXX UNLIMITED:MANIAC;
#SONG:Dance Dance Revolution 8th Mix -Extreme-\SAKURA:MANIAC;
#SONG:Dance Dance Revolution 8th Mix -Extreme-\The legend of MAX:MANIAC;
#SONG:Dance Dance Revolution 8th Mix -Extreme-\PARANOIA survivor MAX:SMANIAC;

Possible solutions:
Do you have the folders right? I mean, are the folder names EXACTLY like they are in the .CRS? are the song names EXACTLY like it says there? Try that.
_________________
hi
Back to top
View users profile Send private message Visit posters website AOL Instant Messenger
Mr. A
Trick Member
Trick Member


Joined: 20 Oct 2003
Location: INTERNET
17. PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2004 6:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OH SNAP!

I downloaded 3.0 Final and tried doing a stepfile for a song (ELO's "Turn to Stone") but whenever I try and save the stepfile, play the song in the stepfile editing mode, or try and play the song, the thing crashes out, reporting an access violation error. (Highlighted line, something like "byte ptr 0x00000000".)

This happened on two computers with considerably different hardware! Help!!!
Back to top
View users profile Send private message
Rook 3
Basic Member
Basic Member


Joined: 23 Jul 2002
Location: Northern Minnesota
18. PostPosted: Fri Feb 13, 2004 6:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, this Isn't a detrimental error as far as I can tell, but every time I run Alpha 12, I get a "Card Error" on the left player side and a "Insert Card" message on the right player side.

Any idea what these messages mean?

Rook
Back to top
View users profile Send private message
[DMB]dman.exe
Trick Member
Trick Member


Joined: 28 Mar 2003
19. PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2004 11:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alrighty, Alpha, make all your DWIs, with XStep, not from the notepad, makes things easier and more dependable.

Rook3, the error is probably a theme metric mishap, remove all profiles (if you have any) reset your theme to default, exit SM, reload and play. If you still get the error, try better describing it.

Hope that helps.
_________________
hi
Back to top
View users profile Send private message Visit posters website AOL Instant Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked you cannot edit posts or make replies    DDR Freak Forum Index -> DDR PC and Simulators All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 40, 41, 42  Next
Page 1 of 42

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2 © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group